Posted by: yogmoney | July 12, 2008

You Can Close Your Eyes

You Can Close Your Eyes

 

July 2008 

 

For anyone who knows me, they know that I have a few things that I love. I love my wife Allie. I love my daughters Abby & Claire. I love my old dog Piedmont. I love my family.

 

I love music. (yeah, I know – who doesn’t…)I have somehow been lucky enough to combine one of my great loves with the work I’ve done along the way. I am indeed a lucky man. I’ve attended hundreds of live shows, met and hung out with some cool, talented, and mess-up people. I’ve even been a part of creating some for TV commercials.

 

So, sometimes I am going to write about music. I will likely write about how I love Radiohead. How that day I saw them for the first time that my love for music grew deeper and more intense than it was the day before. I will probably write from time to time about the fact that I don’t like Coldplay. I’ll write about how the music of the great singer/songwriters has touched me. I may even tell the story of the day I met Snoop Dogg – but that is for another day, not today.

 

Today, I write about a simple song. A lullaby that I think is about the closest thing to a perfect song. It’s simple. Its written and sung in a slightly southern style, reminding me of where I come from. It was written by James Taylor and he sings it like no one else ever could. It’s a song that I sometimes sing to my daughters while they are sleeping.

They have no idea that every time I listen to it that I think of nothing other than the two of them. Someday they will play this after I am long gone and hopefully understand how much they have meant to me.

 

You should take 3 minutes and 9 seconds and listen to it sometimes. I hope that you enjoy it as much as I always have.

 

Here are the words – written only as James Taylor could have written them.

 

 

Lyrics – You Can Close Your Eyes – James Taylor:

 

Oh, the sun is surely sinking down

But the moon is slowly rising

So this old world must still be spinning ‘round

And I still love you.

 

 

So, close your eyes

You can close your eyes

It’s alright.

 

I don’t know no love songs

And I can’t sing the blues anymore

Oh, but I can sing this song

And you can sing this song

When I’m gone

 

 

It won’t be long before another day

We’re gonna have a good time

And no one’s gonna take that time away

You can stay as long as you like

 

Only close your eyes

You can close your eyes

It’s alright.

 

Oh, I don’t know no love songs

I can’t sing the blues anymore

 

Sure, but I can sing this song

Yes, and you can sing this song when I’m gone.

 

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

