Posted by: yogmoney | November 6, 2009

What’s so funny ’bout……

Peace, Love, & Understanding

By Geoff Cottrill (with some borrowed lyrics from Elvis Costello)

November 5, 2009

Tonight I am flying back across the country. I use this time to catch up. I catch up on my reading. I catch up on my e-mails. I catch up on my music. Tonight, as I was writing another piece my iPod played. One of my favorite songs from long ago, a song I probably hadn’t listened to for several years, came on. The song Peace, Love, & Understanding by Elvis Costello. For some reason tonight the song seemed poignant. I am not sure what it is that I am thinking about as I listen to it but for some reason the song hit me in a way it hadn’t all those years ago when I liked it for its anger. What I heard tonight for the first time was its optimism. So, thank God for time to catch up.

The song was written years ago but somehow feels as if it was written yesterday afternoon.

Here are Mr. Costello’s lyrics (just in case you’ve forgotten)….. 3:31 of greatness

As I walk through

This wicked world

Searching for light in the darkness of insanity

I ask myself

Is all hope lost

Is there only pain and hatred, and misery

And each time I feel like this inside

There’s one thing I want to know

What’s so funny ‘bout peace, love, & understanding

What’s so funny ‘bout peace, love, & understanding

And as I walk on

Through troubled times

My spirit gets so down hearted sometimes

So where are the strong

And who are the trusted

And where is the harmony, sweet harmony

‘cuz each time I feel it slipping away

Just makes me want to cry

What’s so funny ‘bout peace, love, & understanding

What’s so funny ‘bout peace, love, & understanding

So where are the strong

And who are the trusted

And where is the harmony, sweet harmony

‘cuz each time I feel it slipping away

Just makes me want to cry

What’s so funny ‘bout peace, love, & understanding

What’s so funny ‘bout peace, love, & understanding

What’s so funny ‘bout peace, love, & understanding

(end)

 

Three simple words – peace, love, & understanding

Where is the harmony, sweet harmony?

So, ask yourself – is all hope lost?

I hope not.

 

Thanks for listening…

 

G


Leave a Reply

Categories

