Posted by: yogmoney | May 17, 2012

Ode to my friend Alan

May 15, 2012

Daylight is waiting for you…an ode to my friend Alan Mintz.

Today as I write this I am reminded that there are only a few things we will all share in this thing called life. And, one of the things in life that we will all share is death.

The world lost someone last week that I will never forget. A father, a husband, an artist, a musician, and most of all, a friend to virtually everyone he ever met. Yes, the world lost many things when this one person left us.

It’s amazing how much of an impact just one person can have on the people and the world around them. My friend Alan was one of those unique people. He gave more than he took – always. He always left you feeling better about yourself no matter the circumstances. He gave you inspiration, encouragement, and energy when you needed it. He laughed throughout his life, no matter the circumstances….he was an eternal optimist.

There is a song I have been listening to a lot lately called Wolves by a not too well known band called Down Like Silver. It’s a haunting song about death and about life. As you listen to it for the first time you might think it’s a dark & depressing track…but as the song progresses you hear the voices of a man & a woman who are in perfect sync with one another. As I listen to it I am left with the feeling of two people who are at peace with life and with the inevitable – death. And, like Alan, it leaves us with a true sense of optimism in the face of great uncertainty.

I wasn’t able to make it to my friend’s bedside before he passed away. I don’t know what he must have been thinking, how scared he was, and how sad he must have been to leave so many loved ones behind. In his last few months we texted, we spoke on the phone a few times, we e-mailed one another. As he faced the inevitable he did it with grace and dignity.

I do know in my heart of hearts that my friend Alan was at peace. He was always at peace, and that is what I loved most about him. I am guessing that I am not the only one who felt that way when the sad news came our way. I know that Alan was at peace because I know he loved life. More importantly he loved his wife and his girls – his family. Alan lived a life filled with love and for that he was rewarded in life with a certain kind of peace some of us may never know. That’s how I know he died with it because he always had it within him.

And, as I listen to this beautiful song that I know my friend Alan would have loved and appreciated, I can only hear the voices of Alan & Christie, in a state of complete peace – knowing that no matter what one faces in life or death, somehow daylight is waiting for you at the other end.

Rest in peace my dear, dear friend. I will always miss you.

Daylight is waiting for you.

G

Lyrics:

When I die

Let the wolves enjoy my bones

 

When I die

Let me go

 

When I die

Let the wolves enjoy my bones

 

When I die

Let me go

When I die

You can push me out to sea

 

When I die

Set me free

 

When I die

Let the sharks come round to feed

 

When I die

Set me free

Oh, the world is dark

And I’ve looked as far as I can see

 

When the years have torn me apart

Let me be

When I die

Let the flames devour me

 

When I die

Set me free

When I die

Throw my ashes to the breeze

 

When I die

Scatter me

 

Oh the world is dark

And I’ve looked as far as I can see

 

When the years have torn me apart

Let me be

Let me be

Let me be

Let me be

Let me be

Daylight is waiting for you

 

*lyrics come from the beautiful song Wolves by Down Like Silver. I hope that they don’t mind that I used their words for inspiration.


Responses

  1. Great job Geoff, Alan was a great guy, always enjoyed talking with him when he was in Seattle.

  2. So strange that I came across your profile on linkedin today, which led me to read your blog and esp this recent post on your friend Alan. I lost an old friend a few days ago. We had not seen each other in years, but receiving the news that Tim passed was really a hit of reality and it reminded me to live each day because you never know when it will be your time.

    Your friend sounded like a great person as was mine.

    Best,
    Maureen

    • Maureen – thx for the note. I’m sorry about your loss. Hang in there. Remember your favorite thing about them and try to carry it with you everywhere you go.

  3. This is beautiful. You mirror many of your friend’s attributes – particularly with your sunny disposition & the open, friendly way that you treat others. The world is a better place for having your friend in it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

